May 10, 2022

Congratulations Class of 2022!

graduates in line and smiling

Ocelots ready to make their mark in the world

Dr. Glenn Cerny, President of Schoolcraft College, presents a diploma to a happy Schoolcraft College graduate. Also pictured is Stacy Whiddon, Chief Academic Officer.

A beautiful day, a packed house of guests and nearly 300 graduates eager to make their mark in the world marked Schoolcraft College’s 57th annual Commencement on Saturday, May 7, in the St. Joe’s Mercy Elite Sports Center (ESC) on the main campus.

Saturday’s ceremony was the second at ESC, but the first with guests. Last year’s graduation ceremony was open to students only due to health-related precautions.

This year’s keynote speaker was Marina Shoemaker, the Director of Global Diversity and Inclusion Strategies DEI External Partnerships for General Motors.

The Student Reflection was delivered by Catreese Qualls, whose many accomplishments include 2021/2022 Division III International Vice President, Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society.

Dr. Cerny bestowed Honorary Degrees upon Marina Shoemaker, Michigan Senator Dayna Polehanki, and Chuck Dardas, President and CEO of AlphaUSA.

Joan A. Gebhardt, Chair of the Board of Trustees, bestowed Distinguished Alumni Recognition upon Michael Siegrist, Clerk for Canton Township.

Stacy Whiddon, Chief Academic Officer, presented the Class of 2022. Skills Certificates, Certificates, Associate degrees, and Bachelor of Science degrees all were awarded.

Assisting Dr. Cerny in conferring degrees and certificates were: Dr. Laurie Kattuah-Snyder, Chief Student Services Officer; Dr. Marty Heator, Dean of Students; Dr. Jerome Lavis, Faculty Forum President; and the Schoolcraft College Board of Trustees: Joan A. Gebhardt, Chair; Brian D. Broderick, Secretary; Terry Gilligan, Treasurer; William P. Erwin Jr., Trustee; and Brett M. Gierak, Trustee. Carol M. Strom, Vice Chair, and Dillon E. Breen, Trustee, were unable to attend due to commencement ceremonies of family members.

The Star-Spangled Banner was sung by student Jared Glasel, a member of the graduating class.

Academic Marshals were: David S. Kelser, D.C., Associate Dean of Health Professions; Dr. Michele Kelly, Dean of Liberal Arts and Sciences; Dr. Robert Leadley, Dean of Occupational Programs and Economic Development; and Lori Timmis, Dean of Distance Learning.

Student Marshals were: Erin Bressler, Vice President of Leadership, Phi Theta Kappa; and Temitope Odunleye, international student.

The Processional, Recessional and other selections were performed by the Schoolcraft College Wind Ensemble under the direction of Dr. Paul Michalsen.

Schoolcraft College Facilities, Media, Campus Police, Student Records, Food Operations, President’s Office, Bookstore, Student Ambassadors, Student Activities Office, and Marketing and Communications also contributed to the success of Schoolcraft College’s 57th Commencement, which can be viewed online.

Read More News