For the possession of controlled substances under Michigan Compiled Law (MCL) listed as Schedule I (MCL 333.7211, 7212) or Schedule II (MCL 333.7213, 7214). Some examples of Schedule I or Schedule II controlled substances include but are not limited to:
Cocaine, Ecstacy (MDMA/Molly), GHB (date rape drug), Hallucinogenic Mushrooms, Heroin, Hydrocodone, LSD, Marijuana, Methadone, Methamphetamines, Morphine, Opium, Oxycodone, Peyote.
- 25-50 grams (felony) – Up to 4 years in prison and $25,000 in fines.
- 50-450 grams (felony) – Up to 20 years in prison and $250,000 in fines.
- 450-1,000 grams (felony) – Up to 30 years in prison and $500,000 in fines.
- More than 1,000 grams (felony) – Life in prison and up to $1 million in fines.
- Possession of any amount of ecstasy (MDMA/Molly) or methamphetamine is a felony with a penalty of up to 10 years in prison and $15,000 in fines.
- Possession of any amount of marijuana is a misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in prison and $1,000 in fines.
or unlawful possession of controlled substances under Michigan Compiled Law (MCL) listed as Schedule III (MCL 333.7215, 7216) or Schedule IV (MCL 333.7217, 7218). Some examples of Schedule III and IV controlled substances include but are not limited to:
Ketamine, Morphine (lower potency than Schedule II morphine), Hydrocodone with aspirin or acetaminophen, Valium, Rohypnol, and Xanax.
Possession is a felony punishable by up to two years in prison and $2,000 in fines.
For unlawful possession of controlled substances under Michigan Compiled Law (MCL) listed as Schedule V (MCL 333.7219, 7220). Some examples of Schedule V controlled substances include:
Cold Medicine with ephedrine and Cough Syrup with codeine.
Possession is a misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in prison and fines of $2,000.
Harsher penalties for distribution, manufacturing, and repeat drug offenses
The penalties described in this document relate to possession of controlled substances. Individuals convicted of the distribution, intent to distribute, or manufacture of controlled substances face longer prison terms and larger fines.
Penalties for driving under the influence drugs or alcohol
Under Michigan Compiled Laws (MCL 257.625), the legal terms are Operating while Intoxicated (OWI) and Operating while Visibly Impaired (OWVI) Both refer to driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
The penalties for OWI (intoxicated) include the possibility of 93 days in jail, 180 days suspended license, 360 hours of community service, $100- $500 fine, and 6 points on driver’s license. OWI is commonly proved by a blood alcohol level of .08% or higher. In addition, there is a “driver’s responsibility fee” of up to $1,000 payable for two years following conviction.
The penalties for OWVI (visually impaired) include the possibility of 93 days in jail, 180 days of driving restrictions, 360 hours of community service, $300 fine, and 4 points on driver’s license. OWVI means that it was (allegedly) obvious to the officer that you were unable to operate a vehicle. In addition, there is a “driver’s responsibility fee” of up to $500 payable for two years following conviction.
Lower blood alcohol standard for drivers under age 21
Individuals under the age of 21 convicted of driving while under the influence face OWI charges and penalties as described above if their blood alcohol level is .02% to .07% or if any amount of alcohol is detected in their system (except in circumstances of religious ceremonies).
Michigan laws and underage drinking
The legal age for purchasing, possessing or consuming alcohol in Michigan is 21. Violations are punishable by $100 in fines and may include court-ordered community service or alcohol/drug assessment and treatment at the offender’s expense. A second violation can result in a $200 fine and up to 30 days in jail if court-ordered conditions from the first offense were not met. Subsequent violations can result in fines up to $500 and up to 60 days in jail if there is a failure to meet court-mandated conditions. (Michigan Compile Laws MCL 436.1703).